Let’s talk mental health

I was diagnosed with clinical depression when I was 13, and back than I was afraid to talk about for fear of being ridiculed.  Now 26, I do my best to talk about mental health and try to break the stigma surrounding it, every opportunity I can.

My diagnoses is nothing new, teen being diagnosed with mental illnesses continues to grow.

It’s good to see that teens are talking about it more openly than they were 10 years ago.  But now that I’m an adult, it seems that it’s the adults who seem unwilling to discuss such an important issue.

Talking about it helps.  It shows a person who may be suffering, is not alone.  It helps parents know symptoms they may look out for in their children.  And most importantly, it teaches youth to be accepting of those who are mentally ill.

Here is a very well written op-ed from our friends at Huffington Post.

Leave a Reply

